Cobb County – A Great Place to Live
770) 528-1000
Conveniently located about 30 minutes outside of Atlanta, Cobb County is a constantly growing suburb with much to offer. For families there are multiple parks and attractions, as well as Kennesaw Mountain. For students there are numerous public schools in the county school system, two state universities, and one technical college. The historical Marietta Square attracts history buffs and antique shoppers, in addition to people looking for an enjoyable afternoon of strolling around the square. Cobb County was one of the 24 counties created in 1832 from Cherokee Indian territory. It is named for Judge Thomas W. Cobb, a former U.S. Senator. Marietta, the county seat, is said to be named for his wife. In frontier days, the Chattahoochee River, which forms Cobb’s southeast boundary, served as a dividing line between Creek and Cherokee Indian territories.